Fitness | Why don’t Fashion girls run?

October 17, 2011 § 2 Comments

Looking back at my week (fitness wise) I’ve been bad. Very bad. My usual work-out schedule is 5-6 days active, 1 rest. This past week was 3 active, 4 rest, which, let me tell you, is very inappropriate. But why didn’t I exercise as per usual? Of course I have my excuses, we all do. Monday was my official rest day, Tuesday I had a work dinner, Wednesday I wasn’t feeling well and Friday night I was at Elite Model Look Finale.

Putting aside being sick, which is 100% acceptable, Wednesday and Friday I skipped my runs because I was too busy socializing. Needless to say, I had an amazing time both nights but when it comes down to results, two fun nights equal not enough mileage by the end of the week.

<<Keep reading to learn about tips and tricks for running from a Fashion intern’s packed agenda>>

  • Morning runs. I would always go for a run in the early AM (think 6 o’clock) but since I got a full-time job, boyfriend, puppy and friends (finally!) I am usually exhausted when the alarm goes off and I do oversleep every morning. They key of going for a run in the morning is that as soon as you’re done with it, you can go on with your day having your work-out done. Last minute meetings, dinners or headaches do not affect your exercise routine.
  • Planning ahead. It is indeed very difficult to organize and schedule every little thing to the smallest detail, but there are some things that you can plan in advance. For example, I find it very difficult to change my rest day from Monday to another day because I’ve been doing it like this for a long time. But if I know that two other nights of the week I won’t work-out, I would step up my game on Monday. Anyway, let’s stop talking about the past and focus on what’s ahead.
  • Listen to your body. If you’re just starting out with running, or if it’s your first time at the gym after the whole Summer and part of Fall, take it easy. If you need 3 days of rest a week, go for it and don’t punish yourself. Don’t force yourself to go from couch-potato to 6 running days on your first week. If you don’t feel like exercising at all in the weekend, take both days to recover and start again on Monday.
But, what is this “working-out advice” doing on a “fashion blog”? Well, both running and Fashion are my passions and I can’t really choose between them. Running makes me disconnect from everything and it’s my alone time while I have a blast playing with Fashion.
I’m not just another girl into Fashion, my heart is completely divided: when I wake up in the morning I think about how many kilometers I’m going to run that day, and only when I’m in the shower I start thinking about what I’m going to wear.

The best of both worlds.

Follow my work-outs on my Fitness log and on Daily Mile

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Fitness | Why don’t Fashion girls run?

  • Debbie says:

    Hihi yes I also love the background of the pics..

    My boyfriend lives on an island called Texel 🙂

    x

  • You shouldn’t be so hard on yourself!
    Maybe you should just go with it a little bit more, because thinking about how bad it is that you didn’t work out yesterday isn’t really a constructive way of thinking.
    I really admire you for being so active, but maybe you should focus on the days where you did go running, and not feel bad about the days that you didn’t. There are more important things in life, and you look amazing already 🙂
    I hope you don’t mind me saying this, but I mean well!
    X, Lucy

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fitness | Why don’t Fashion girls run? at MARadam.

meta

